Publication Day Interview: Silent Scream by Angela Marsons

I’m delighted to welcome Angela Marsons on the blog today as she celebrates the publication of her hotly anticipated debut, Silent Scream. It’s such an intriguing cover, I can’t wait to get stuck into this one. Here’s Angela to tell us a little more about it.

 

Silent-Scream-Kindle

 

Can you describe your new novel in one succinct but sensual sentence?
A dark, atmospheric crime novel that will take you on an intense emotional journey.

Who is your favourite character and why?
My favourite character has to be Kim Stone. She is intelligent, passionate and definitely not perfect. She breaks the rules when she feels the end is justified by the means. And quite frankly, I never know what she’s going to get up to next.

Which authors have been your main inspirations?
Carol O Connell – Her Kathy Mallory books focus on a main character who is borderline Sociopathic and not always likeable. And yet the reader connects with her anyway.
Val McDermid – I think the creation of Tony Hill is pure genius. Again, I like characters that are slightly off beat. I would like to kidnap Tony Hill, keep him in a cupboard and bring him out for a nightly chat.
Mel Sherratt – Her hard work, determination and tenacity has been a true inspiration to me.
How does your writing process work; confusion and paper flying everywhere or calm and ordered?
I’d like to say a bit of both. Initially when I start a new project I like to do so with only a rough plan in my head so it can grow organically for a while. If I plan too early I feel constricted by my own level of detail. Normally by around 25,000 words the one page, crudely drawn chart is replaced with a day by day scene plan so I can keep an eye on all my characters’ actions.
What is your guilty pleasure when writing? (Chocolate, wine, coffee…)
Most definitely coffee. I write approximately three metres away from the Tassimo machine and that is no accident. A good Espresso to kick start me into action, copious amounts of Cafe Cremma for the journey and a celebratory Latte Macchiato to end. I would be lying if I didn’t admit to the odd piece of Galaxy chocolate sneaking its way onto my desk. I mean, energy levels and all that…

Please share your blurb with us.
Even the darkest secrets can’t stay buried forever…

Five figures gather round a shallow grave. They had all taken turns to dig. An adult sized hole would have taken longer. An innocent life had been taken but the pact had been made. Their secrets would be buried, bound in blood …

Years later, a headmistress is found brutally strangled, the first in a spate of gruesome murders which shock the Black Country.

But when human remains are discovered at a former children’s home, disturbing secrets are also unearthed. D.I. Kim Stone fast realises she’s on the hunt for a twisted individual whose killing spree spans decades.

As the body count rises, Kim needs to stop the murderer before they strike again. But to catch the killer, can Kim confront the demons of her own past before it’s too late?

Fans of Rachel Abbott, Val McDermid and Mark Billingham will be gripped by this exceptional new voice in British crime fiction.

 

About the Author

Angela

Angela lives in the Black Country with her partner, bouncy Labrador and potty-mouthed parrot.
She discovered a love of writing at Primary School when a short piece on the rocks and the sea gained her the only merit point she ever got.
Angela wrote the stories that burned inside and then stored them safely in a desk drawer.
After much urging from her partner she began to enter short story competitions in Writer’s News resulting in a win and three short listed entries.
She used the Amazon KDP program to publish two of her earlier works before concentrating on her true passion – Crime.
After many, many submissions Angela was signed in a 4 book deal to bookouture.com as their first crime author.
Her first book SILENT SCREAM will be published in February 2015.




Leave a Comment